Ground Rods Should Be Bonded?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-04-06, 11:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,636
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Ground Rods Should Be Bonded?

I noticed when the phone company installed a new box for a second phone line (few years ago) they drove a new ground rod.

The electrical ground rod is only about 8 feet away, shouldn't these two rods be bonded?

If so, how deep does the ground wire have to be? There is a sidewalk between the two, would 4" be deep enough?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-04-06, 12:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Typically the phone company will run a wire from their box to the wire that goes to the ground rod for the electric panel.

Since there is a side walk in the way can we assume that there is a door and steps also in the way.

Check your local code. What he did may be fine.
 
  #3  
Old 08-04-06, 01:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,636
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Should have mentioned this is a mobile home, 4 wire feed, ground wire on the electrical panel goes to the frame.

Wire to the ground rod comes directly from the meter pan.

Reading Rex Cauldwell he says the wire must be one continous piece (minimum 6" deep) so that takes care of that, no way am I messing with the meter!

Couldn't I abandon the phone ground rod and run the ground wire to the ground bar in my panel? Only be 6 feet of wire.

Maybe this is the way he would do it but I was working when he was here so he couldn't get inside so drove a ground rod instead? No idea.
 

Last edited by Baldwin; 08-04-06 at 01:22 PM.
  #4  
Old 08-04-06, 01:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you are not having any current problems, I would let it go.

I think you are safe.
 
  #5  
Old 08-04-06, 01:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,636
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Yeah, it's been like that for 15 years and I haven't turned into a light bulb yet.

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 08-06-06, 09:41 AM
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 159
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Baldwin
I noticed when the phone company installed a new box for a second phone line (few years ago) they drove a new ground rod.

The electrical ground rod is only about 8 feet away, shouldn't these two rods be bonded?
Yes, they are required by the NEC to be bonded together. NEC-2005 250.94.

Not doing so could result in a difference of potential between the systems. For example, in a storm, there could be a difference of potential inside your answering machine, resulting in arcing or potential shock hazard.

If so, how deep does the ground wire have to be? There is a sidewalk between the two, would 4" be deep enough?
There is no depth requirement. Try to route the bonding jumper in a way that it will not be damaged.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: