New ceiling fan wiring question...

Old 08-04-06, 04:13 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New ceiling fan wiring question...

I've got another ceiling fan that I'm looking to install, but the wiring is more complicated than the first one was. Now keep in mind, I'm a pretty novice electrician. Extremely novice.

So, the wires that drop out of the box are as follows:

Out of one side of the box, there is a green, (off)white and black wire. The green wire is connected two green wires that drop down from the other side. There are also two black wires and two (off)white wires that hang down from the other side.

The ceiling fan has a white, black and blue wire. And the bracket has a green wire. I know the green goes to the green, or copper wire. The directions say to hook the black and blue together to the black wire, and the white to the white. But, which ones? All of them??

Thanks for any assistance you can provide.

Old 08-04-06, 06:05 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
When you took down whatever was up there, you made note of where the wires went, right? You took a digital picture, right?
OK, are any of the wires tied together with b-caps? If so, which ones. Is the fan to be controlled by a wall switch?
You will need to determine which black wire is hot. Most likely the one on the side where the green wire is, but don't guess. The other wires are most likely a part of a switch loop, but answer the other questions so we can get it going.

Old 08-04-06, 07:58 PM
T