Wiring upstream to a GFCI

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-08-06, 08:40 PM
dcolucci's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 67
Question Wiring upstream to a GFCI

I've never worked with GFCIs before...I'm wanting to add a standard 110 outlet "before"/upstream to a GFCI outlet. (I'm running romex upstairs to a room where GFCI is not necessary. Will this be ok? I'm guessing it will be fine but wanted to check with all of you! Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-08-06, 08:49 PM
Sthrnamp's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mid TN
Posts: 188
As long as the plug you are running to before the GFI doesn't need to be GFI protected then your fine if the circuit will allow. Make sure that you put the wires to the plug before the GFI on the "LINE" side of the GFI....(This will make sense when you look at the back of the GFI) Questions, give a shout
 
  #3  
Old 08-08-06, 08:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
Also check your local codes. For example if code requires a dedicated circuit for a bathroom that includes the existing GFCI you cannot tap upstream to power an outlet in a different room.

On the other hand some jurisdictions also require that circuits serve only one floor unless they are GFCIs.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'