Security System Dedicated Outlet-why???

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-09-06, 04:47 PM
dcolucci's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 67
Question Security System Dedicated Outlet-why???

I just moved into a new home-the security sys has a dedicated "single" outlet where the transformer is plugged in and zip-tied to prevend unplugging-along with a dedicated breaker on the circuit breaker. Why is this and can I wire it with a dual outlet plug-I really need another outlet right in this location.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-09-06, 05:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
They want to make sure that you do not trip the breaker, although I don't think this is the real reason.

My best guess is that the location of the receptacle would normally require a GFCI receptacle (such as an unfinished basement), but they chose instead to use a normal receptacle, and can only do so if the receptacle is a simplex one and it cannot easily be used for something else.
 
  #3  
Old 08-09-06, 05:49 PM
dcolucci's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 67
Of course!!!

YES-of course! That makes 100% sense. It is in a basement location which would normally have to be gfci. SO my next question...Would it be tough to replace that simplex outlet with a dual GFCI? I've never wired a GFCI.
 
  #4  
Old 08-09-06, 06:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
It is not difficult to install a GFCI receptacle. However, if I were you I would instead extend the circuit to a new junction box and then install the GFCI receptacle at the new box.
 
  #5  
Old 08-09-06, 07:25 PM
dcolucci's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 67
Talking Sounds good

I will do just that! Thanks!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'