Looking for ground

Old 08-15-06, 12:16 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Looking for ground

I've been part of this forum for years. Now I have a challenge. Electricians, are you ready?

Background: I'm a Network Analyst by trade. I design computer networks for customers throughout the USA. Whenever I design a network, I include a UPS solution for all equipment electrical connections and a surge suppression solution for all data connections. The UPS equipment simply plugs into a standard customer supplied receptacle (varying configs based on capacity), and is no problem. The data line surge suppressors, however connect to the data lines and then require a connection to ground via a 12 inch long 18 gage(? approximately) wire. In some cases, the UPS equipment I spec. has a grounding screw on the back that provides a simple appropriate place to connect the surge suppressor ground wire, but in others cases, none of the equipment has a screw appropriate for this connection.

Question: Given that our installers are not electricians and I can't ask them to open even so much as the plate on an outlet, where can they connect this wire? Is there any type of device available that plugs into a NEMA 5-15 outlet and provides nothing but a ground connection that I could give them to plug into one of the outlets on the UPS (which we'll assume, for the sake of argument, is always properly grounded)? Would it be sufficient to connect the wire to the outlet plate screw (dad always said that wasn't a very reliable ground connection...)?