Underground Conduit

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-16-06, 12:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: California
Posts: 47
Underground Conduit

Recently I had an electrician install a service panel to the rear of our home. It is a 100 amp service panel.

The main breaker box is located approximately 200 feet from the new panel. Panel was installed for a future spa.

The conduit was buried 18-24 inches in the soil.

Over the weekend a back hoe operator (family friend) removing soil for a patio pulled the conduit from the ground. There is a tear in the conduit. One of the cables was pull out through this hole. The cable (approximately 1/2 inch in diameter) is not damaged as far as I can tell. There are two more cables and a ground still in the conduit.

This is in almost the middle of the conduit run. 100 feet from each end.

How should I handle this.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-16-06, 01:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Remove the wires, repair the conduit, inspect the wires, replace (the existing or with new) wires.
 
  #3  
Old 08-16-06, 01:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
I agree. The damage that was done cannot be seen.
 
  #4  
Old 08-16-06, 05:00 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Originally Posted by racraft
Remove the wires, repair the conduit, inspect the wires, replace (the existing or with new) wires.
THE ONLY DISAGREEMENT. Inspect the wires.
Remove ,repair and replace with new (wires).
 
  #5  
Old 08-17-06, 07:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: California
Posts: 47
Since the damage is mid point in a long run, I will need to cut the conduit mid point.

What is the best way to cut the conduit without compomising the wires inside?
 
  #6  
Old 08-17-06, 07:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Remove the wires before doing anything to the conduit.

Once the conduit is repaired you can reinstall the wires if they are sound. The wire that is damaged, and maybe all of the wires, need to be replaced.

Do not attempt to make any repairs with the wires intact.
 
  #7  
Old 08-17-06, 07:42 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,342
Disconnect the wires at both ends and pull them out of the conduit, then repair the conduit. Inspect the wires very throughly outside of the conduit and replace any of them that are damaged. Repull the wires in and connect them in the panels.
 
  #8  
Old 08-17-06, 11:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Damage could be done to the wires that you cannot see. Especially to the insulation on the wires. If you do not have a megger and know how to check to be sure, You need new wires.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'