wiring baseboard heaters...please help

Old 08-18-06, 12:03 PM
wiring baseboard heaters...please help

I am finishing a small room in my garage as a piano/guest room. The room is about 120 sf, and I have a small spot in the entrance way (4') for a baseboard heater, which, at my local Home Depot = 1000 240v. The baseboard heater can be supplemented by a separate electric fireplace for when guests stay, so basically it's just there to keep the piano from freezing.

I'm new to anything non 120v, but have been doing some research, and think I have things figured out. 240 v = two hots, no neutral. Fine, no problem.

The previous owner of my house had a large range style plug wired in this room very close to where I want my baseboard heater. It looks like 3 wire 10 gauge. It was disconnected at the power supply, and taped together, but the breaker spot where it must have gone is TWO 15 amp breakers. He's labeled those "free circuits" (I can't even imagine what he had hooked up to the range plug, given where it is!)

My question is, can I use this existing cabling? I really don't want to have to run new wires when everything is already there, but I will if I have to.

If I can use it, do I use the existing box for the range plug as a closed junction box and run everything from there?

Lastly, if I can't use it, do I use 12/2 wire and buy a single 20 amp breaker to hook everything up? Thank you all for listening to the long winded questions!

Chawkey

edit - now that I look again, the wire may even be thicker than 10 gauge, perhaps 8 or even 6..can't see the casings, so I'm not sure.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-18-06, 12:10 PM
You need a double pole 15 amp breaker. If the two 15s are a double pole(double full size and both handles tied together for a common trip) you can use them. #14 wire is fine for this. 1000W at 240 volts is only about 4 amps.

Old 08-18-06, 12:13 PM