Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

total novice adding outlets and lights to unfinished basement.

Old 08-20-06, 07:46 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

I am adding approx 6 recepticles and 2 fluorescent light fixtures to unfinished basement. One outlet already exists and is at the end of the circuit, marked "G.F.I.". there is 1 incandescent light fixture operated by a switch. where do i start and what safety issues should i be concerned with? I live in Minnesota, USA.

Last edited by Justin_I; 08-20-06 at 05:14 PM.
Old 08-20-06, 08:58 AM
M
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Added general-purpose receptacles to an unfinished basement will need to be GFCI protected.

But, sounds like you'll also need a new circuit pulled from the panel. It's probably time to call an electrician.

Old 08-20-06, 10:37 AM
J
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
How about posting a better picture of what is existing. The term outlet in electrician lingo means 'something that uses electricity'. Recepticles, lights, and hard wired appliances are all examples of outlets.

So my question is: Do you have one recepticle and one light existing in the basement, or just one light and you called it out outlet, which would be the proper term.

The place to start is to desgn the system. Ask youself what you may want to use this room for in the future after you install the electrical. You need to decide if you want one circuit for all the recs, or if you want more than one. I suggest that you put the lights on a seperate circuit from the outlets. This is a personal preference. That way if the lights loose power I can plug in a lamp to see to fix them. If the recs loose power, I can still see to fix them with the lights.

Post back with some more of the details as I have discribed above. Someone will help will more detail on how to run the circuits after you tell us what to help with.