GFI installation 2 back to back Help????

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-24-06, 01:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Question GFI installation 2 back to back Help????

My husband wants to install an additional GFI that runs thru a current GFI... the directions are a little confusing for hooking up the two together (one is inside our sunroom and the new one would be just outside in our patio, they would be back to back)... If anyone can tell us how to do it safely... it would be greatly appreciated... Thanks so much...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-24-06, 01:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Pig tail the blacks, whites, and greens together in the first gfi.

Only connect them to the line terminals on that gfi. Make sure that the load terminals are snug so the screws dont wobble arround in the box.

Connect the wires in the other gfi to the line side terminals. Same for the wobbleing...


In reality you do not need two GFI recs. the second regular rec could be connected to the load terminals on the first GFI.

I hope this helps.
 
  #3  
Old 08-24-06, 01:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Depending on the age of the original GFCI (or the new one ) you may not need to do any pigtailing (except for the ground wire). A GFCI that can handle back wiring can accept two wires per connection.
 
  #4  
Old 08-24-06, 02:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Originally Posted by racraft
Depending on the age of the original GFCI (or the new one ) you may not need to do any pigtailing (except for the ground wire). A GFCI that can handle back wiring can accept two wires per connection.
That has little to do with the age of the GFI, but the Quality. LMAO.
 
  #5  
Old 08-24-06, 02:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Ignor this ladyhomerepair. but...

All hail racraft, the great and most wonderfull. diety of the electrical forum....... lol.
 
  #6  
Old 08-24-06, 06:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Pay no attention to the man behind the white curtain.

Oh sorry. Got carried away.

Mr White may be correct about back wire terminations on GFCI receptacles. I cannot prove or disprove him. All I can say is that I have only seen back wire connections recently, on both GFCI and non-GFCI devices.
 
  #7  
Old 08-24-06, 06:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
Just check out the diagram closest to the bottom of the page linked below. As previously mentioned the downstream device can be a standard 125VAC duplex receptacle.

http://www.cornerhardware.com/howto/ht067.html
 
  #8  
Old 08-29-06, 11:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks for the info... we'll try it this weekend.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes