Is this a big deal? (Electrical outlet removal)

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-27-06, 06:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 251
Is this a big deal? (Electrical outlet removal)

We are planning knock out part of a wall to create a doorway. In the middle of that wall is an electrical outlet. Is it a big deal to take out the outlet and the wiring that goes with it? Can we just cut the power off and cut the wires, or is that a ridiculous question? Is this a job best left to a professional?

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-27-06, 07:04 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,287
First, find out exactly where the outlet gets it's power. It may be from another outlet plus it may pass power on to other outlets. Pull the receptacle and see how many wires are in the box. If there are more than two plus a copper ground, you may need an electrician to move this circuit. Check and let us know what you find. Don't forget to cut the power at the breaker before you go into the receptacle box.
 
  #3  
Old 08-27-06, 07:20 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,441
You may also need to add new receptacle in order to meet the spacing requirements when you add the doorway.

They should be no more than 6' from either side of the new door.
 
  #4  
Old 08-27-06, 07:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 15,834
Any changes to structure will require a permit. Check with your local building codes department re: required permits and inspections.
 
  #5  
Old 08-27-06, 07:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 251
Really? To cut a hole in a wall to make it a pass through requires a permit? We don't live in a city, but we are in police jurisdiction. I can't imagine needing a permit, but I'll check. Thanks for the heads up.
 
  #6  
Old 08-28-06, 10:18 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,287
Problem is that if you cut the wrong studs you could weaken the roof or second floor. You don't want the police, along with EMT's digging you out of the rubble.
 
  #7  
Old 08-28-06, 10:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Just to set the record straight, you may or may not need a permit. It all depends on where you live. I used to live in a place where you did not need any permits unless you were modifying the foundation. I've found on a number of web forums that many people who live in or near "the big city" automatically think that the entire country needs permits to change a door knob.

That said, permit or not, you need to understand what you are dealing with, and your questions make it sound like perhaps you should consult a professional.

First, no you cannot just cut the wires, I assume you don't like fires starting in the wall, further, even if you could, code would not allow you to conceal them, they would have to terminate in a junction box. Further still, as already mentioned, that outlet may not be the last on the circuit and you would need to deal with the downstream outlets/fixtures. At best case, you'd need to go disconnect the line coming to that box from whatever box it is originating. Worst case, you need to rewire the downstream outlets/fixtures. Also, as mentioned, you may have spacing issues with required outlets by code, and structural issues if the wall in question is weight bearing.
 
  #8  
Old 08-28-06, 11:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 251
Thanks guys, but this may be a job for professionals. Doorknobs, light switch plates and ceiling fans we can do - electrical, not so much.

Thanks for the advice thought. It is greatly appreciated.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'