Open hot reading on a Switch controlled outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-02-06, 12:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Question Open hot reading on a Switch controlled outlet

I rewired my 15 year old house with Decora outlets to update the look. I used a 3 prong circuit tester to make sure that all my outlets were installed correctly. I have an outlet that I broke the connection because it is controlled by a switch. When I plug in the tester, it shows an open hot when the switch is off and correct when the switch is on. I think that I am OK since there will be no power if the switch is off, but I want to be sure. Do I have this wired correctly or do I have a problem?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-02-06, 12:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
You are fine. Open hot is exactly what the switch does, as you have already concluded.

Stop back if you have any other questions.
 
  #3  
Old 09-02-06, 02:23 PM
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 311
Do those 3-prong receptacle testers have a battery in them? Where do they get the power from to test and light the LED in an "Open Hot" situation?
 
  #4  
Old 09-02-06, 04:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
In the most common testers, the open hot is indicated by all lamps OUT.
 
  #5  
Old 09-02-06, 06:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
They are line powered, and light to indicate a good hot, and don't light when there is no hot.

They are rather simple devices really, an indicator line to neutral, another line to ground, and yet another ground to neutral, and a chart on the label depincting the problem for a particularn combination of lit and dark lamps .
 
  #6  
Old 09-03-06, 04:18 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 55
Personaly I hate these devices it tell you good/bad but not how good or how bad. METERS don' lie. And a neon indicator breaks down at 90 volts so a 70 volts it will not lite up and you think you are safe ha!
 
  #7  
Old 09-04-06, 12:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
However, a digital meter will show you phantom voltage, which only confuses many of the people who post here looking for advice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'