fireplace insert

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-03-06, 03:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 158
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
fireplace insert

Hi, I bought a Sunbeam fireplace insert a month ago and decided to switch it on last night - although it worked when I brought it, it doesn't anymore (could this be why Sunbeam are out of the fireplace insert business!) I have checked the fan and that is working but the element is not heating. I cannot see any loose wire's. Help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-03-06, 03:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Less than a month old. Still under warentee.. Take it back.
 
  #3  
Old 09-03-06, 04:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 158
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks jwhite, but it was an eBay as is purchase... I wonder if as local electrician could repair?
 
  #4  
Old 01-26-08, 11:31 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sunbeam fireplace

I don't know if you've resolved your problem but I just finished fixing my Sunbeam fireplace. It was doing the same thing yours was and here's what I did.

On the top of the heating element there's a thermal switch and a fuse. It's unlikely the thermal switch went out (they rarely do) but it's quite possible to blow the fuse.

[Improper advice removed.]
 

Last edited by racraft; 01-26-08 at 05:25 PM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: