Ground Bar versus Neutral Bar

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-04-06, 02:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 3
Ground Bar versus Neutral Bar

In looking at my breaker box today, I realized that the ground bar is considerably shorter than the neutral bar, though both are pretty much filled up. It appears that someone in the past put some of the ground wires into empty screws in the neutral bar. Can any harm result from this?

BillC
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-04-06, 03:34 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
As long as this is the main panel, meaning containing the main breaker, this is not a problem. Neutrals should not be on an added ground bar, but grounds can be anywhere.
Typically grounds can be doubled and even trippled up in holes as long as they are the same size (up to #10 usually). The label in the panel will tell you.
 
  #3  
Old 09-04-06, 04:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
I agree with petey, this is fine as long as this is the main panel. First in line right after the meter. Except for the part about two grounds under one lug. I dont really see the harm, but it is most of the time against code.

Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
Typically grounds can be doubled and even trippled up in holes as long as they are the same size (up to #10 usually).
This would be a violation of 110.14 (a)" ...........Terminals for more than one conductor and terminals used to connect aluminum shall be so identified."

Unless the label specificly says that it is allowed. I have not seen many that do.

Odly enough what you can do is wirenut several grounds and pigtail them to the ground bar. the pig tail has to be the size of the largest ground wire, and the wirenut has to be rated for the wire sizes etc.
 
  #4  
Old 09-04-06, 05:00 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
I am not trying to be contrary, just a reply, but most panels I have nused and seen DO accept more than one ground in a hole. Only grounds, never neutrals .
I do know most all major brands are listed as such.

Maybe it is a location thing.
 
  #5  
Old 09-04-06, 06:30 PM
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 159
So I don't have to feel guilty for landing two grounds under the same screw any more? Sweet!

It does stand to reason. There's always a tiny ground bar in most panels, the only way to use a 30 space panel with a 18 hole ground bar would be to double up.

It's never okay for neutrals to share a screw, per 408.41.
 
  #6  
Old 12-23-06, 10:44 PM
csharp's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 67
Old post, but just to clarify it for anyone searching the archives ..

Up to 3 grounds under one screw is ok, but only ever 1 neutral per screw.
 
  #7  
Old 12-26-06, 05:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
ground bar vs/ nuetral bar

if your home has only one panel (main panel), and does not have any sub-panels, then this situation is fine.

in the main panel the grounded wires (green or bare wires) are bonded with the grounding wires (white wires).

this bonding happens when the elecrtrician doing the installation installs the bonding screw ( which esentialy bonds the metal eclosure of the main panel with the grounded and grounding wires.

the main panel is the only place that this happens.

if it were a sub-panel the grounded and grounding wires are isolated from one another.
in sub-panels only the grounded (green or bare wires) are bonded to the panel enclosure.
 
  #8  
Old 12-26-06, 06:31 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Green & bare wires are GROUNDING conductors.

White (& grey) are GROUNDED conductors.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'