Smoke detector on separate circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-05-06, 02:56 PM
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Garrettsville, OH USA
Posts: 61
Question Smoke detector on separate circuit?

Do hard wired smoke detectors need to be on a separate circuit, or should they be on the light/receptacle circuit in the room?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-05-06, 03:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Sometimes this is a local issue. Check with the inspector. Some will require a separate circuit, some will prohibit it, others will have no specification. In general they all (the entire house) have to be on the same circuit.

Also, if you have a choice, I would recommend they NOT be on an AFCI circuit.

If you have a choice, put them on an often used circuit, such as a hallway light or something. You want to know immediately if not sooner that the circuit breaker has tripped and that they don't have ac power.
 
  #3  
Old 09-05-06, 05:05 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
A lighting ckt is recomended by most, required by some.
Battery back up is a MUST (IMO) and required by some.\
Depending on your application and area, If it's in a bedroom AFCI required. However Just adding them helps.
Smokes DO SAVE LIVES ! So Please treat them seriously.
 
  #4  
Old 09-05-06, 05:15 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Just so you know, somkes are NOT covered under the NEC or electrical code. This is a building code issue.
ONLY your local office can answer these questions with certainty.
 
  #5  
Old 09-05-06, 07:54 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Smokes are not covered but outlets in a bedroom are. As lecrticlee posted, if they are in a bedroom (and the area has accepted that section of the NEC) they have to be on a AFCI circuit
 
  #6  
Old 09-06-06, 05:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 274
Smile

In my opinion the smokes have to be on a AFCI circuit if in a bedroom. They also need to be inter-connected so that if one alarm goes off, all alarms go off.. NFPA covers this.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'