Smoke detectors how many wires?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-06-06, 02:57 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smoke detectors how many wires?

Hi,

In general, how many wires are run to each smoke detector in a hard-wire set up.
Does each smoke need to be run back to the breaker panel or is it a series loop ?

I have some open rooms that I want to run the wire before the walls are put up.

The existing house doesn't have hardwired smokes.
 
  #2  
Old 09-06-06, 03:01 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,621
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Run a 2 conductor cable from the source of power, and a 3 conductor cable between them. The third wire will be used to interconnect them.

Just to be pedanitc I will say that this is not series. It is daisy chain.
T tap will work for smokes also.

Some local inspectors want you to run the circuit back to the panel. Others want you to come off of a local lighting circuit.

I prefer the local lighting thing so that you will know right away if the breaker trips.

If any of the smokes are in a bedroom you need to use an AFCI protected circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 09-06-06, 07:22 PM
Sthrnamp's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mid TN
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
C'mon J how do you expect these forums to be informative when you use words like pedantic? ( Just kidding but i get a lot of grief where i work for my vernacular) just wondering if you get the same where you are...other than that...I appreciate your advice but it gets old trying to beat you to answering posts...LOL..keep it up

AMP
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: