baseboard wiring-=?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-06-06, 06:06 PM
radio59's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
baseboard wiring-=?

I have an older fuse box in my home=here are the specks=
combination panelA.C. volts 115/230---max. amps.100

I've been told since there is no stove or dryer, I should change
the barrel fuses from 60amp. too 30amps. and put an sub
fuse-box outside the main fuse-box and run two 20amp fuses
for the baseboard heaters, here are my questions, Ive been
told I can run four 1000 watt baseboard heaters back too
back-is that right?
and can I wire two too the left & two too the right off the load
end of the fusebox.
any help would be greatly appreseated. can someone email me at--<EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED, not allowed>

thnak-you- radio59
 

Last edited by racraft; 09-06-06 at 07:40 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-06-06, 07:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Slow down.

It sounds very much like you have the capacity to add a circuit for baseboard heating.

However, you cannot simply run a circuit and add them until you know something about them. Are they 120 volt or 240 volt?

As for what you need to do do in the fuse box, I'm not going to let someone with more fuse box experience address that.
 
  #3  
Old 09-07-06, 06:04 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 274
Smile

Radio59...can you post a picture of your fuse panel with the cover removed?
How many fuse spaces do you have?
Give the brand name of the panel and any information written on it if you can get it.
Give all of the information that's written on the heaters.
When you say "hook up back to back" what do you mean?
Series or parallel?
steve
 
  #4  
Old 09-07-06, 04:54 PM
radio59's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
baseboard wirring-#2 a better explanation-sorry

sorry fellows-sometimes I think faster then I write.

O.K.- the fuse panel is (HOUSEPOWER-FUSE PANEL)the sticker
reads as follows-amalgamated electric corporation limited.
combonation panel. A.C.volts-115/230 max.-amps=100
testing labratories approved-combination service entrance equipment-C.S.A.-approved. there are some numbers underneath--LL186-----100-----S.29

I was told by an electrical store that I could run three baseheaters=Dimplex 1000watt/240volt/length:"48" and one
750watt/240volt--don't know the length of the lower wattage
baseboard heater. off the same 240 volt supply in the fusebox
I had explained that there was lots of room in the fusebox
for moore fuses, but that because it was so old, I could not
get any-moore of the bakelite double fuse holders any moore
and I explained too him that I had run the first heater supply
from the stove barrel fuses, because there is no stove or
dryer in my place. He explained too me that I have too
change the barrel fuses from 60 amps down too 35 amps
and run an sub. fuse box outside the main fuse box and run
run two 20amp fuses in that box. and in the long run I could control all four baseboard heaters from one single pole
thermostat, I've done lots of wirring jobs before and know
and respect electricity very much, and prefer too work on
cercuits that are powered down, but cannot always.....
hence I respect electricity... anyhow here's the question I
wanted too ask, I know how too run the 240volt wire from
the barrel fuse supply in the main box too the supply in the
subbox fuse box, & yes I have the right wire too do that job,
the guy there said I could use the same wire that I was using
for the baseheaters-=12/2 red & black,. what I real;ly wanted
too know?-is. can I run two feeds off the load end of the sub
fuse box, meaning can I run two baseboard heaters on the left
side of my place, & two baseboard heaters on the right side
of my place,. I think what I trying too say is, can I run two
feeds of 12/2 wire off the load end of the sub fusebox.
I'm really sorry that this posting draged out so long. hopefully
this time I might have explained my-self moore cleaely.
thank-you for your responses--Radio59
 
  #5  
Old 09-07-06, 06:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Yes, you can run 3750 watts off a 240 volt 20 amp circuit.

20 amps * 240 volts *.8 demand factor = 3840 watts.

3750 is less than 3840, so you are fine.

However, in your original post you specified four * 1000 = 4000 watts, which is too large for a 20 amp circuit.

The terms left and right initially confused me, and may be confusing to others. You can put the load anywhere you want. You can out two heaters together in one room, and then one each in two other rooms OR four separate rooms, OR all in one room.
 
  #6  
Old 09-08-06, 07:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 274
Smile

Here's my opinion regarding your heater installation. Whether you use any or all of it is up to you. You are the one that's responsible for a code compliant and safe installation. I accept no responsibility for your installation or it's safety.
steve

Radio59[/QUOTE]

"three baseheaters=Dimplex 1000watt/240volt/length:"48" and one 750watt/240volt"....... Total 3750 watts = 15.6 Amps load...Heat systems are considered continuous loads so you must add 25% to the calculation... 15.6 x 1.25 = 19.5 Amps.
#12 wire is rated for 20 Amps so you're OK here.

"off the same 240 volt supply in the fusebox" .........Yes if you mean powering the sub-panel from the stove fuse terminals.

"supply from the stove barrel fuses change the barrel fuses from 60 amps down too 35 amps".....If you use #12 wire to feed the sub-panel these fuses need to be 20 Amp....or.... if the wire is enclosed in conduit (not over 10 feet long) between the panels you can use #12 wire and 35 amp fuses (10' Tap Rule).

"run an sub. fuse box outside the main fuse box and
run two 20amp fuses in that box".......Yes
I would use a small MLO breaker panel with 20 Amp 2 pole breakers unless the heaters require fuses (look at the instructions to be sure that the heaters are allowed to have breakers protecting them and are rated for a 20 Amp supply, you may have to use smaller breakers or fuses).

"control all four baseboard heaters from one single pole thermostat"........No. If you use a single pole thermostat, the heaters will require a disconnect at each heater or will have to be within sight of the sub-panel that feeds them.
You can use a double pole thermostat with a marked "off" position and be OK. If you use a single pole unit, even with the thermostat turned off, one leg of the (internal) heater circuit will still be energized (hot). This is not good.

"work on cercuits that are powered down"... Absolutely!

"run the 240volt wire from the barrel fuse supply in the main box too the supply in the subbox fuse box"......Yes, see above post and be sure to run (and bond to each enclosure grounding bar and the heaters themselves) a equipment grounding conductor with the circuit wires.

"yes I have the right wire too do that job, the guy there said I could use the same wire that I was using for the baseheaters-=12/2 red & black"....See above post

"can I run two feeds off the load end of the sub
fuse box"..........If the terminals where you attach the wires are rated for connecting 2 wires you can. If not you may have to splice two wires together with a short (#8 copper) "pig-tail" and install the "pig-tail" under the screw. You can use (proper sized) wire nuts for the splice.

"can I run two baseboard heaters on the left
side of my place, & two baseboard heaters on the right side
of my place".......Yes, you will need two thermostats and 2 seperate circuits.

My post is for information only, and I accept no responsibility for it's use.
steve
 
  #7  
Old 09-09-06, 03:58 PM
radio59's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
baseboard wiring #3 the happy ending

hello again too all the people who responded too my long
winded questions, somehow I could not get on too the post
last night? anyhow, I was at the canadian tire today, & guess
what? while looking for subfuse-boxes, I came accross what I
was hopeing too find eslwere, the double fuse holder block,
and with that,I can use two of them too wire two different
240volt supplies-==two heaters on the left side of my place
and two heaters on the right side like I wanted too do in the
first place. & yes I'll have too the two heaters together,the rear
jumping over the front one too the line supply coming from the
main fuse box still allowing me too control the two on the left
side with one single thermosta=< and the same for the right side of my place,with them two runing fo a single t-stat, and
with thier own seperate 240volt supply from the mainfuse box.
oh! I might havr forgotten too mention, the double fuse block
holders push into the blank spots-(and there are lots of them)
in the mani fusebox.l thank-yous once agian for your time
and awnsering my questions. radio59
 
  #8  
Old 09-11-06, 05:07 PM
radio59's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Question I hate too bother yous again-but?

I was out today and went too an demolition dealer, while there
asking him about boxes, I noticed in junk pile on his desk,
there they were, double fuse box holders, the type I needed
too plug in my fuse panel. my question is, do I use 20amp
fuses or 30amp fuses jn them. here are the details. I have
two-dimplex-1000watt, 240ac-"48"-baseboard -sngle pole
thermostat running both of them , wired into the 240-stove
supply in the main fusebox, I will be disconecting it and running
that supply from there to one set of the double fuses, while
using the two fuses for 240ac-should they both be 20amp. or
30amp. fuses. those heaters, one on front wall. the other on
the left wall. left wall supply running too the line supply at
the front wall, single pole thermostat.


don't mean too bother yous--radio59
 
  #9  
Old 09-11-06, 07:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
For 12-2 wire you have to use 20 amp fuses. Why are you using single pole thermostats??
 
  #10  
Old 09-11-06, 07:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
We addressed this already. Why are you asking again?
 
  #11  
Old 09-12-06, 04:45 PM
radio59's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
why???????????????????????????????????????????????

it is better too be safe then sorry/ some addvise comes with
a price>some is just offered from good hearted people like
you and the others on these postings.


thank-yous all-radio59
 
  #12  
Old 09-16-06, 05:34 PM
radio59's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Smile been a few days

its been a few days since I've been on here, but everything
is going good. I wired an other baseboard heater the other
day, it's on its own double 20amp fuse supply in the main-
fuse box, with it's own single-stat. working great!.


on an other adventure, I wired a bulldog-remote starter system
in the old 89-chev-halfton, today, minner set back,. not a
biggy, it starts on the seconded try from the remote,-but
the manual went on too say, if the vehical is a hard starting
type, use the tachwire-hookup. not an big problem, I'll just
hook that wire up tomorow.

anyhow, I'm out of here---radio59
 
  #13  
Old 09-19-06, 05:34 PM
radio59's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
thanx for no

I guess this was the wrong place too ask for and-or receive
no replyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
  #14  
Old 09-20-06, 08:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 274
Originally Posted by radio59
I guess this was the wrong place too ask for and-or receive
no replyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Huh? Waddayamean?
 
  #15  
Old 09-20-06, 02:25 PM
radio59's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Angry the second part of the last post

a simple awnswer too the second part of the last
postttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt
 
  #16  
Old 09-20-06, 02:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
What is the question? And please stop the repeated letters.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes