Radio Trips GFCI breaker.

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-10-06, 03:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 249
Radio Trips GFCI breaker.

I was on call at work the other day and had to use a hand held radio. When I talked on it it caused a couple of the GFCI circuits in my house to trip. I fixed the problem by istalling a .001 uF capactior from the protected side of the breaker to ground and a couple of clamp on ferrite beads. While this works I dont know if it is the proper way to fix the problem or not. Please advise.

Jimmie
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-10-06, 03:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
No, this is not the proper way to fix the problem. The proper way to address the problem is to STOP using the radio, or to replace the GFCI devices with new ones.
 
  #3  
Old 09-10-06, 03:44 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Jimmie,
ABSOULTELY NOT.

While I cannot say what the electronic or RF reasons are for this problem to happen, I would NEVER alter the workings of a GFI circuit. Even externally.
 
  #4  
Old 09-10-06, 06:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 249
How can I be sure the new ones I buy will work better than the ones I have. I dont wish to spend $70 or so on breakers just to have the same problem. Do you know of breakers that are protected form RF interference? The guys at the super store didnt have a clue. I figured the worst that could happen would be a capacitor shorting and in this case the breaker would just trip.
 
  #5  
Old 09-10-06, 06:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: race city, usa, mooresville
Posts: 441
jimmeydee,have to agree with the guys on this one, i sometimes use my two way at the house and it will trip the breaker(gfi), the wattage of the radio pops them when i'm in close prox. to them.
never ever defeat the purpose of a gfic. have to give you a "a" for
inventiveness though, just don't do it.
barry
 
  #6  
Old 09-10-06, 08:13 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
I was on call at work the other day and had to use a hand held radio. When I talked on it it caused a couple of the GFCI circuits in my house to trip.

The guys at the super store didnt have a clue.
This is the first time I have heard of this.(The radio part)
 
  #7  
Old 09-10-06, 08:23 PM
Sthrnamp's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mid TN
Posts: 188
This is caused by the signal "going to ground" You know all those "TURN OFF TWO WAY RADIOS" signs in blast zones? This is why...the signal (although wireless) is being transmitteed trough the air and comes to ground where it is recieved...Usually though it is most pronounced where loud voices or sharp yells are transmitted. So pleae do turn off your two ways when in blasting zones and don't yell into them...man i shold gice this advice to my boss...


Side note...watch IRON Eagle the movie, no i didn't get this info from there but it made me question it...So I did...I was a very curious 12 year old.
 
  #8  
Old 09-10-06, 09:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 249
Originally Posted by brentwoodpmg
jimmeydee,have to agree with the guys on this one, i sometimes use my two way at the house and it will trip the breaker(gfi), the wattage of the radio pops them when i'm in close prox. to them.
never ever defeat the purpose of a gfic. have to give you a "a" for
inventiveness though, just don't do it.
barry
I dont understand how the purpose has been defeated. They still work on test with the capacitors in place. The caps just keep the rf out. Please explain.
 
  #9  
Old 09-11-06, 09:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Fayetteville, NY, USA
Posts: 1,052
A suggestion: Try installing metallic wallplates on the affected GFCIs. This is just a guess, but it could possibly provide an rf shield.

~ Juice
 
  #10  
Old 09-17-06, 05:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 249
I checked with the electrical engineering department at work on this while they were down to check out a UPS install. The gurus put their heads together and decided there was nothing wrong with this as long as I used good quality capacitors. Their assessment was the same as mine, the worst that could happen is a capacitor shorting out and tripping the breaker. They did reccomend that I use the smallest cap that would get the job done so I changed the caps from .001 to .0005uF and these still prevent RF from activating the breaker. I didnt have any smaller 1500v caps so this was all I tried.
 
  #11  
Old 09-17-06, 06:10 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
As technology develops the code does not always keep up with the situations we encounter.

I suspect, Jimmydee that you have a safe, relyable, purhaps even efficent way to cure this problem. My concern is that it is not an industry recognized way to do this. The parts may not be ul listed and aproved for the purpose. If something bad did happen there could be liability issues.

I do like the idea, and think you should find a way to fit it in a box that can be installed on the side of the panel, or in a standard wall box, then have it tested and market the idea.

You stand to make a wad of money..
 
  #12  
Old 09-26-06, 04:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 249
I removed the caps all together leaving just the ferrite beads and it still works. IVe been told that newer GFCI breakers dont have this problem. These are 15 years old and I am sure they are the cheapest that could be had at the time.
 
  #13  
Old 09-26-06, 04:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I suggested that you should install new GFCIs in post number 2.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'