Arc Fault breaker on a light circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-12-06, 11:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 102
Arc Fault breaker on a light circuit

Hi all,

I am redoing some wiring in my soon to be finished basement.. One question I had is that while doing the wiring I noticed the exist light circuit was an arcfault breaker... I traced the wires and realized they added a smoke detector onto the circuit as well, but I am at a lost as to why they would use an Arc Fault breaker on it.. Just concerned there are outlets on this cirucit as well..

Any thoughts?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-12-06, 11:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Well first of all, there are outlets on the circuit. Outlets are any place where electricity is used on the circuit. You meant to say receptacles.

I am guessing that the circuit is arc fault because the smoke detectors in the house are interconnected, and some of the smoke detectors are in bedrooms.

Depending on code at the time and possible local ammendments, smoke detectors in bedrooms need an arc fault breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 09-12-06, 12:30 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Expanding a little on Racrafts mention, Anything (electricaly) in a bedroom must be AFCI protected, So if the smoke dectors pass thru, they must be protected.
 
  #4  
Old 09-12-06, 01:21 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
To expand a bit on Lee's post, what he says is according to the newest codes.
Recent codes required only "receptacles" on AFCIs and even older codes did not require them at all.
This is of course if your area even adopted the AFCI requirement at all.
Mine still does not enforce the use of AFCIs.
 
  #5  
Old 09-12-06, 01:31 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Very Good point Speedy.

We seem to accept/enforce things here before the NEC/NFPA or others aprove them.
I'm starting to like the "local jurisdiction" thing,In the other parts of the country.
Here ,They print... It's law. You get used to it.
 
  #6  
Old 09-12-06, 06:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 102
Thanks!

Yes, They are pass through.. I always though afci were for outlets only.. Good to know.. Thanks
1
 
  #7  
Old 09-12-06, 06:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Once again, you meant to say RECEPTACLES.

AFCI cirucits are for outlets. And smoke detectors are wired at outlets.
 
  #8  
Old 09-12-06, 06:57 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Cool

Technicaly, any box that you may get power from is an "Outlet" (smoke ,light,switch etc). This is also a common phrase for receptacale (plug)
But a plug is the male part of a cord cap, the receptacale is the other part.
Nobody realy knows what a finnigan pin is though,or a gazinta.
 
  #9  
Old 09-12-06, 08:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 102
Hmmmm.. Thanks for the correction, really cleared things up...
 
  #10  
Old 09-12-06, 08:19 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
A plug is a gazinta.

And a switch is NOT an outlet, it is a control.
This ought to stir things up.
 
  #11  
Old 09-12-06, 08:23 PM
Sthrnamp's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mid TN
Posts: 188
of course i just use the word device and that tends to clear things up better
 
  #12  
Old 09-12-06, 08:40 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
AMP; gets a "B" for effort.

Speedy: gets an "A"-
The switch is a control, But the box it is in, is an outlet.
No extra points for the gazinta.
What is a finnigan pin, anyway?

I was asked to go get one 23 years ago, I'm still looking.
 
  #13  
Old 09-13-06, 03:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Outlet. A point on the wiring system at which current is
taken to supply utilization equipment.

A box is not an outlet untill you attach some equipment to it. A light switch box is therefore not an outlet.

New can of worms. What if the switch is lighted?
 
  #14  
Old 09-13-06, 04:08 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Your right, CURRENT,Key word.
I fail.
 
  #15  
Old 12-24-06, 12:49 AM
csharp's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 67
hmm .. old thread, but a fun one.

What if the switch is really a dimmer switch. Having a certain amount of resistance would mean it's probably generating some heat. Would that therefore make it a device? *grin*
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes