wiring help

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-17-06, 06:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 119
wiring help

I need to add three lights in my basement. Each light needs to be off its own 2-way switch. If I put a junction box with the power source coming into it, can I split these off to 3 different lights, each independently controlled from the other? I was hoping I could run a two wire from each switch to the power source at the junction box, and then run a 2 wire from each switch to its respective light, but I'm not sure if this can be done on the same circuit? Any help appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-17-06, 06:31 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Question

1st) where does your power source originate from? What else is on this ckt.?
2nd) how many wires are in this box?
3rd) What size wires are they (12/2-14/2- etc.)
Depending on the curent configureation,this can/could be an easy task.You are on the right path, a little more info can seal the deal.
 
  #3  
Old 09-17-06, 06:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Of course you can do this. I don't recommend it, but you can do it.

However, since you are questioning this, you have a lot to learn. Start with the book "Wiring Simplified" available at the bog box stores or on-line. Read it cover to cover (okay, skip the farm wiring section). This book should answer your questions.

In general I discourage junction boxes that exist purely so that circuits can be split. A better design has the splitting of the circuit at one of the switches or lights. However, there are times and situations, especially with pre-existing circuits and certain repair jobs that it does make sense to use a junction box.

Remember that ALL junction boxes must be permanently accessible. They cannot be buried in walls or ceilings.
 
  #4  
Old 09-17-06, 07:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 119
1st) where does your power source originate from? What else is on this ckt.?
Nothing else is on this circuit. It is a straight feed from the panel. Only these three lights will be on this circuit.
2nd) how many wires are in this box?

None, yet. I need to feed three different lights

3rd) What size wires are they (12/2-14/2- etc.)

It's all 12-2 on 20amp circuit.

"In general I discourage junction boxes that exist purely so that circuits can be split. A better design has the splitting of the circuit at one of the switches or lights."

ok, how would I go about splitting them at each light switch and still have them all share the same power source?
 
  #5  
Old 09-17-06, 07:55 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Nothing else is on this circuit. It is a straight feed from the panel. Only these three lights will be on this circuit.#

Then in this case.. Run the 12/2 to each switch box.. Panel to box 1--to box 2--etc; Then a 12/2 from each box to the respective light.

DO NOT ENERGIZE CKT!!! Untill all terminations are complete!!!

In each switch box splice all whites together. splice, the blacks from panel together with a pigtail comming off of these, This will be the switch "HOT", terminated on the top screw of switch. Splice all grounds together, with a pig tail for termination on the switch (green screw).
at the switch location..Attach the black going to the light to the other (bottom) screw on the switch.
At the light; depending on terminations, If screw connection: white to silver screw: black to bronze screw.
If wires: white to white , black to black. and bare (ground) to ground or green screw.
 
  #6  
Old 09-18-06, 07:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 119
So are you saying I don't need a junction box and that I can simply chose one of the three switches as the entry point of the power from the panel, and if I follow your wire instructions I can continue that power to the other lights and each will operate independently?
 
  #7  
Old 09-18-06, 01:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Please define "own 2-way switch"
 
  #8  
Old 09-18-06, 02:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 119
By that I mean I want each of the 3 switches to control its corresponding light, and only that light. I want them all to share the same power source, but need to know how to wire it in such a way that one switch doesn't end up controlling all 3 lights. that's why I was thinking of running the power source to a junction box, and having three separate 2 wires going to each respective switch, then running another 2 wire from each switch to its corresponding light. But Racraft said I shouldn't splice the power off in a junction box, and to split the wire at one of the switches, so that's what I'm trying to figure out how to do.
 
  #9  
Old 09-18-06, 02:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
first run your feed from the panel to all the switches.

next run a wire from each switch to the light you want to control..
 
  #10  
Old 09-18-06, 05:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 119
"first run your feed from the panel to all the switches."

by that I assume you are meaning to use a junction box and splice off the power run?
 
  #11  
Old 09-18-06, 05:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,459
Wiring

Run cable from panel to the first switch, but do not make any connections in the panel at this time. Run another cable from the first switch to the second switch. From there run a cable from the second switch to the third switch. In the first and second switch boxes, connect the two black wires and a pigtail together. This pigtail gets connected to the bottom screw on the switch. At the third switch, connect the black wire to the bottom screw on the switch. Now run a cable from each switch to its corresponding light. In each switch box, connect all the whites together. Connect the black in the cable run from the switch to the light to the top screw of the switch. Connect all grounds together and to the switch and to the switch box if it is a metal box.

Connect the lights. Now, make the connections in the panel.
 
  #12  
Old 09-18-06, 06:37 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Pay attention!
3- people have described the same thing.
Don't make it more difficult than it realy is. Otherwise it will surely get messed up.
With none to blame but yourself.
Best of luck.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes