Replaced Old Oven that was Hard Wired

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-19-06, 07:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Replaced Old Oven that was Hard Wired

So My wife and I finally replaced out very old oven this weekend. We ordered a 3 prong plug thinking that it was too old to be 4. When I pulled out the old oven, I realized that the oven was hardwired and not plugged into an outlet. For those of you who are electricians, the wires were running into a metal box where they were spliced to the wires coming from the the breaker (hope that makes sense to you). So....

Do I wire the new oven into the box the same way the old one was? Or...

Do I convert that box to a 3 prong outlet? Or...

What would an electrician do? Depending on this response I may just call one. And what do you think I should be charged for such a job (barring any other unforseen circumstances)

Thanks Guys! I appreciate anyone's advice!!!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-19-06, 07:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Is the wire from the panel to the J box copper or aluminum?

What size wire are we talking about on the oven and the house?

I ask more questions than I answer For evey one I answer I ask several. That is because I need the added info to make an informed decision on how to answer.
 
  #3  
Old 09-19-06, 07:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Actually I think you answered my question

I will call an electrician.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'