GFI Keeps Tripping, Even New One

Old 09-22-06, 09:20 AM
GFI Keeps Tripping, Even New One

Hi!

Been surfing the forums here at dyi hoping to find an answer to my question. I've found that it's not reccommended for dishwashers to be on a gfi circuit. But my neighbor's dishwasher is on a 20 amp dedicated circuit with a 20 amp gfi recepticle.

In order to help my neighbor out I had to do some research. First I needed to know how a gfi works. So I now understand that a gfi is comparing the current on the hot side with the current on the neutral side of the outlet. I also found while researching this problem that major appliance manufactures don't reccommend gfi circuits.

This recepticle is located under the sink and not in the space the dishwasher occupies. I'm a carpenter so I know this isn't how things are normally set up. However, this house is in a city with funky codes. My neighbor told me that the city made them put gfi's under the sink for both the dishwasher and garbage disposal when she remodled her kitchen about 15 years ago. I've called the city to find if this is still code and am waiting for his return call.

I'm thinking that the gfi for the dishwasher is due to the recepticle being under the sink.

So in order to troubleshoot her problem, I first plugged her dishwasher into the garbage disposal recepticle. After a while this gfi also tripped. So I wasn't sold on the notion that the gfi was bad.

But I contacted a guy on a local radio show, the Appliance Doctor. He suggested I change the gfi and if the gfi still trips to call an electrician. And if everything checks out to call him back. Guess he want's to make sure the electrical circuit is ok before diving into the dishwasher.

So now I've changed both gfi's, disposal & dishwasher. The gfi is still tripping for the dishwasher. Funny tho, with the old gfi's it would take maybe 8 times before the gfi would trip. With the new one it took 2 times hehe.