Main breaker question

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-28-06, 05:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Main breaker question

If I tap off a 200 amp main panel to a 100 amp load center can I have a 100 amp 2 pole breaker in the main panel, and a 100 amp main breaker in the 100 load center? is this legal?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-28-06, 05:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Yes, provided that the cable or wire between the panel can handle the 100 amps.
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-06, 05:46 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
You do not need a main breaker in the sub panel.
You will need 4- wires between the two panels (rated for 100 Amps).In the sub, keep the neutral and ground isolated.
Assuming these panels are within the same structure.
 
  #4  
Old 09-28-06, 06:32 PM
william tell's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 176
no main in sub if less than 6 cir .
other wise yes unless you can see it AND its less than 50 ft. away
 
  #5  
Old 09-28-06, 06:36 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Originally Posted by william tell
no main in sub if less than 6 cir .
other wise yes unless you can see it AND its less than 50 ft. away
Huh?

The six movement rule applies to the main service only and the visable and less than 50 feet applies to disconnects for equipment.

A sub does not need a main breaker if it is within the same building, as lectriclee posted.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes