Running 110v line off existing 220v stove circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-06, 11:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Running 110v line off existing 220v stove circuit

Current stove/oven is a combo micro-wave all powered by one 220 outlet (circa 1990). I want to replace the range - 220 circuit no problem. But if I add a new hard wired micro-wave above the range, I need a 110 circuit. Can you tap into one side of the 220 circuit since the logistics of running a dedicated line to the service box makes it near impossible? Otherwise, the only other circuits available are the 15a kitchen recepticles which would have to be tapped into to.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-29-06, 11:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
No, you cannot tap a 240 circuit in this manner.

You cannot tap the kitchen receptacles either.

Your only choice is to run a new circuit for the microwave, which is most likely what the requirements of the microwave call for anyway.
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-06, 06:34 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Wink

NO!!! don't even think of it!! UNSAFE first, Illegal 2nd.

Safety first.... I don't know for sure,"But" someone once told me... "It's no fun waking up dead".
For what it's worth.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'