spa and gfci

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-01-06, 05:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
spa and gfci

I have a subpanel that I will be putting a 30 amp 2 pole gfci breaker in. The spa has 2 load connections(black and red) and one ground(grn). The breaker has 3 lugs , 2 load power and one load neutral. Does the breaker white pigtail go to the insulated neutral? Do I connect the wire from the groung terminal on the spa to the load neutral on the breaker? Please advise.
Thanks, Chris
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-01-06, 06:00 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Question

The spa is rated and labled at 30 AMPS, 230 Volts (not 230/115 vlts) correct? This is important.
What size conductors are at the spa?
What type of wire?
Indoors or out?

The red and black(from spa) go to the GFCI breaker. The GFCIs' neutral (white wire) goes to the neutral buss of the panel.
Now the ground... Are you wireing into the Main panel or a sub panel? Never mind I just re-read.

This is a sub panel. So therefor the Ground (green) wire goes to the GROUND buss terminal, NOT the neutral buss.
In the panel there should be 2-terminal strips, 1 will have an insulated white wire, thats the neutral. The other will have a GREEN wire that is the ground. The two should not be connected in any way at this panel.
 
  #3  
Old 10-01-06, 06:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You do not connect a ground wire to a neutral connection at any location except the main panel in any residence.

The ground wire from the hot tub only connects to the ground buss in the sub panel.

If your hot tub is truly 240 volts only then you have no neutral, and therefor nothing to connect to the neutral connection on the GFCI. If, however, the hot tub is 120/240 then you don't have the correct wire and you need to get it.
 
  #4  
Old 10-02-06, 04:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
spa and gfci

The spa is 240 vac. So to be clear I leave the neutral load on the breaker empty and connect the ground from the spa to the grounded bar in the subpanel. I connect the white pigtail on the breaker (2 pole 30amp) to the insulated neutral bar in the panel.

As a side ... I ran 3#8 stranded copper to the spa from the panel and included one #12 with them just in case.
 
  #5  
Old 10-02-06, 09:32 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,537
> So to be clear...

Correct.

> I ran 3#8 stranded copper to the spa

You could have used #10, but no worries. The two hot wires can be any colors other than white, grey and green; and the ground wire must be green.

> included one #12 with them just in case

I can't really think of a use for that #12, but it won't hurt anything sitting there.
 
  #6  
Old 10-03-06, 04:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
spa and gfci

Thanks for the advise
Chris
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes