Cat 5 question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-06-06, 01:29 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 32
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cat 5 question

First of all let me say this forum is great! it has saved me a lot of money


I am finishing my basement into an entertainment room and want to hook up phone and ethernet in the basement. I will be running CAT 5 myself. Is this setup correct? Do I have to use a crossover cable to hook into the router and computers?

Cat 5
Blue/White Phone Line #1
Orange/White Phone Line #2
Green/White Ethernet TX #1-2
Brown/White Ethernet RX #3-6
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-06-06, 01:56 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would most definitely run a dedicated cable for each. I would not share the phone and LAN in the same cable.
The cost difference is negligible in the scope of things.
Also, look at how much you will use. A 1000' box may be much cheaper in the long run, even if you do not use it all now.
 
  #3  
Old 10-06-06, 05:19 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You want TWO cables, one for the phone, and one for the computer connection.
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-06, 10:48 PM
Niadh's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 223
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That setup will also limit your network to 10-BaseT (10Mbit max). If the cable you're running is Cat5e you could run 1000BASE-T (gigabit) over it using all 8 wires for networking.
 
  #5  
Old 10-07-06, 04:51 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you are using a router or switch you do not need a cross over cable, the uplink jack on the equipment will make the adjustment for you.
 
  #6  
Old 10-07-06, 05:01 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Generally speaking, crossover cables are no longer needed.

When routers and hubs were first designed, the connections were hard-wired a certain way. Back then you would need a crossover cable for certain connections.

Next came devices with either a switch or sometimes with one internal port that had two external ports, one for each configuration.

Now, most routers and hubs are auto-sending, and will conform to the cable signals they sense.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: