Heat Tape

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-08-06, 07:24 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 313
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Heat Tape

Hello, I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions concerning me using an extension cord for my heat tape that I plan on using under my trailer? I read the directions on the heat tape and it specifically said not to use an extension cord. I don't have an outlet in the area under the trailer where it freezes. I do, however have an outdoor outlet about 15 feet away. The guy at the Electrical/Plumbing store sold me a heavy duty air conditioner cord. Now I'm guessing air conditioner cords are made to be inside? Maybe he didn't realize I planned on plugging it in outside? Should I buy an outdoor heavy duty extensin cord? I'm just concerned because the guy who sold me the cord said he burnt his trailer to the ground when he was younger using heat tape under his trailer!! Any suggestions/ concerns would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks in advance! Jack
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-08-06, 08:41 PM
ElectricalMan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisonburg
Posts: 744
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Extention cords are not premitted to be used as FIXED wiring....running it under the trailer in my mind would attempt to make it permanent wiring and cord wiring can't be used in that manner.

Now you said you dont have an outlet in the "AREA" but that leads me to believe you have "A" outlet under the trailer....so with that said I would think of extending that receptacle to your NEEDED location before I resorted to the extention cord method.

Also using the heat tape in a method against the directions of the manufacturer is also a problem.....they say do not do it for a reason.....
 
  #3  
Old 10-09-06, 04:15 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Return the extension cord. You don't want to use an extension cord. It's not up to code and dangerous.

Depending on what else is on the same circuit as the existing receptacle, either extend it to where you need it or run a new circuit.
 
  #4  
Old 10-09-06, 06:07 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 313
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by racraft
Return the extension cord. You don't want to use an extension cord. It's not up to code and dangerous.

Depending on what else is on the same circuit as the existing receptacle, either extend it to where you need it or run a new circuit.
Thanks! I kinda figured the extension cord was a bad idea! Jack
 
  #5  
Old 10-09-06, 07:26 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As ElectricalMan stated, extension cords are not permitted for permanent wiring. They are for temporary use only.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: