GFCI and base cabinets

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-11-06, 11:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: us
Posts: 385
GFCI and base cabinets

I just had rough in for my basement finishing and the inspector noticed my outlets were high on one wall. This is because I plan to put base cabinets along this wall for built in storage. The inspector mentioned any outlets above the cabinets would need GFCI protection. This is for a basement rec room with no plumbing in the room. Is this part of the NEC or is it a local/individual inspector's code? I never heard this mentioned before and was just curious.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-11-06, 11:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Unless this is a kitchen or there is a local requirement, the inspector is wrong.
 
  #3  
Old 10-11-06, 12:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: us
Posts: 385
Thanks, thats what I suspected. I'll humor them with a GFCI rec to start the string.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes