New dryer/range wiring

Old 10-13-06, 05:52 PM
New dryer/range wiring

Alright. I bought my first washer and dryer, but now I can't plug it in! The outlet is for a range. It says it is "50 amp/250 volt." Well, the dryer requires 30 amps, and all I can find is 40 amps that will plug into that plug.

I saw discussion of "breakers" at another website, but I'm totally clueless. What do I need to do? The hardware store guy said to just plug it in, but that's against code, right? Can you give me some advice?

Thanks,
Kate

Last edited by oakland_kate; 10-13-06 at 06:09 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 10-13-06, 07:31 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Kate,you need to find out exactly what ampacity and voltage that the washer and dryer require. If the existing installation is of a greater ampacity the change is fairly easy. If not it gets a little more complicated.

Is this a stacked unit or 2 seperate units? When you said a range outlet, is this in a kitchen?

Old 10-14-06, 02:00 AM
I'm no electrician, just a DIYer with some experience with home electrical work, so keep this in mind. Maybe I can help you get to the solution.

I understand that your problem is that the plug on your new dryer won't fit into the the existing outlet. I once had a similar problem and had to replace the dryer's outlet. Hopefully, that's all you'll have to do.

I get the picture that you are trying to plug a dryer into a stove outlet. Is that correct? If so, what about the stove. Do you have one, or do you plan to get one in the future (you'll need this outlet for it).

Assuming you don't have a stove, don't plan on getting one, and just want to use the stoves circuit for your dryer, I would think you can do it. Reason is because the stoves wires are bigger than a dryers because a stove has to carry a lot more power (like when all four burners are on) that a dryer.