Circuit for old arc welder in new subpanel?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-14-06, 02:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Circuit for old arc welder in new subpanel?

I have an older arc welder that connects to a type 10-50R receptacle ( 250 Volt, 50A ). This type of receptacle takes two hot wires and a neutral - no ground connection. My electrical reference book says this is not for use in new installations. I want to use the arc welder in my garage which has its own 100A subpanel with an isolated ground and neutral per code. What are my options for a new circuit for the arc welder?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-14-06, 02:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Any circuit you wire today needs a ground. Even if the device plugged in does not require a ground, the circuit still must be run with one.

As an example, most 120 volt devices (except mainly appliances and computers) do not need a ground, but any new circuit you run for them must have a ground.

Run a four wire circuit (two hots, a neutral and a ground) for this welder.

If the welder really and truly needs a neutral and not a ground then use the neutral. However, if the welder was actually using the neutral as a ground and does not put current on it, then use the ground. This means you need to determine (absolutely) what the welder needs.
 
  #3  
Old 10-15-06, 11:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
I'd be extremely surprised if this welder needs a neutral. It was likely wired to a new plug by someone who wanted to use it in a dryer receptacle.

Replace with a NEMA 6-50P plug and wire a new NEMA 6-50R receptacle from the panel: two hots and a ground should be all you need.

Tell me the welder's model number, and I can verify this for you and we can discuss amperage and wire requirements.
 
  #4  
Old 10-16-06, 12:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
The welder is a Tri star 230 AC/DC welder manufactured by Century Mfg Co Model 110-114

thanks

Jeff
 

Last edited by DIYaddict; 10-16-06 at 12:48 PM. Reason: Removed quote as it's unnecessary to quote the entire post
  #5  
Old 10-16-06, 08:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
You don't need a neutral.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'