Is This Okay

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-18-06, 03:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Is This Okay

I just brought a 220 welder that draws 20 amps. I have some supplies from a another project that I want to use. This is what I want have and want to install for the welder.

30 amp 2 pole breaker
8 gauge wire
50A recepticle.

Is this safe?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-18-06, 04:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
code dictates that all three have to be equal IE the wire , receptacle and breaker must all equal 20 amps in your case.
 
  #3  
Old 10-18-06, 04:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 340
No, the wire can be as large as he wants, code just mandates a minimum- #10 would be easier, but nothing wrong with #8. And a welder that draws 20A technically should NOT be on a 20A breaker- should be at least 25A, and probably 30A. I don't see anything wrong with what he plans.

He is essentially installing a 50A outlet and protecting it with a 30A breaker, which meets all codes I'm aware of.
 
  #4  
Old 10-18-06, 05:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks I thought it was alright. The number 8 wire is larger than code and so is the 50A recepticle. I just wanted to check with you guys.

Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 10-18-06, 10:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
Yes, your plan is fine and meets applicable codes. A little overkill on the wire, especially with a welder that probably has a small duty cycle, but it's leftovers anyway, and you'll be able to use a bigger welder later if you need to, without rewiring the circuit.

Happy welding!

Check out the Weld Talk forum at www.hobartwelders.com for some great welding and general shop talk. We discuss all brands.
 
  #6  
Old 10-18-06, 10:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
The NEMA 6-50P 50A plug is extremely common on most 240V welders, even if requiring as few as 20A or even sometimes when they require more than 50A but at a small duty cycle.
 
  #7  
Old 10-19-06, 10:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Thats the welder I have is a Hobart 180. I build hotrods so its all I basically need. As far as the wire I had some 8 gauge laying around and I did not want to go buy any new wire if I could use this stuff.
 
  #8  
Old 10-19-06, 11:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
The HH180 is a very popular machine. You will enjoy it.

It comes standard with a NEMA 6-50P plug.

But to clarify, your machine draws 20A at its RATED capacity of 130A where it has a RATED duty cycle of 30%. It will draw proportionally more current at a proportionally less duty cycle as it goes up to its maximum capacity of 180A.

You're still fine. But those are the real numbers. Welding machines are sometimes confusing with the way they "rate" the duty cycle and input amperages.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'