Switch Loop question.

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-24-06, 05:27 PM
Bernard_01's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 247
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switch Loop question.

I moved and my books are packed in storage. I did not draw the diagram and should be punished. Here is my scenario.
.White and Black supply go to light fixture #1.
.From fixture #1 a White and Black go to Switch #1.
.From fixture #1 a White and Black go to Fixture #2.
.Finally from fixture #2 a White and Black got to Switch #2.

Please tell me how to wire this and I will also respectfully accept any punishment you ladies & gents impose.

Thanks so much.
-Dark in New hampshire.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-24-06, 05:37 PM
green jacket's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Williamsport and Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Posts: 502
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AT FIXTURE #1
connect black from feed, black to fixture #2, and white to SW1
connect black from SW1 to black of fixture
connect white from feed, fixture, and to fixture #2
connect all grounds, and be sure use a green grounding screw and pigtail if the box is metal

AT FIXTURE #2
black from fixture #1 to White to SW2
Black from SW2 to fixture black
white from fixture to white from feed.

HTH
gj
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-06, 05:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, misread your post.
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-06, 05:56 PM
Bernard_01's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 247
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thank you gj. i'll wire these two lights first thing in the morning.

-Bob
 
  #5  
Old 10-26-06, 10:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
We're assuming that you want switch #1 to control fixture #1, and switch #2 to control fixture #2. Post back if you had something else in mind.
 
  #6  
Old 10-27-06, 04:57 AM
Bernard_01's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 247
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi John,
yes, that was my intention. The diagram worked perfectly . lights on!

-Bob
 
  #7  
Old 10-28-06, 07:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unless I'm mistaken, you're also supposed to mark the white wires that go to the switches as hot wires, by wrapping some black tape around them or something, no?

Cheers,

Sy
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: