Hey...where are my GFCI outlets??

Old 10-27-06, 08:17 AM
Hey...where are my GFCI outlets??

Ok I thought houses built in 1996 (?) and beyond had to have GFCI outlets in the bathroom. My house was built in 1999 and there are no GFCI outlets installed. The outlets in question are less than 3 feet from the vanity in all the bathrooms. How did this pass inspection? There are no CFGI breakers in the main panel and no GFCI outlets upstream from the bathrooms.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-27-06, 08:30 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
I'm not an electrician but I'm sure the bath outlet is on a GFI. Many electrician will group together the different devices that need protection. Trip the GFI's and see if you have power to the bath outlet.

Old 10-27-06, 08:41 AM
Have you thoroughly and completely looked for a GFCI receptacle? What about the basement? What about the garage? What about outside?

What about if ther previous owner replaced them with regular recetpacles?

Bottom line, check the entire circuit. If you don't find them, add them. Better yet, if you haven't bought the place yet have the seller add them.

Last edited by racraft; 10-27-06 at 09:03 AM.
Old 10-27-06, 10:35 AM
A very inexpensive 3-light tester can also trip GFCI circuits (if you get that model). Of course, if it works, then you'll be forced to find the GFCI before you can reset it. If it doesn't, you'll know you can quit looking and replace the receptacle.

Old 10-27-06, 02:29 PM
Start by looking in another bath room, or in the panel.

Old 10-27-06, 03:33 PM
I'm pretty sure code prohibits protecting one bathroom on another bathroom's GFCI's. Not saying thye followed it tho.

Old 10-27-06, 03:42 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
> I'm pretty sure code prohibits protecting one bathroom on
> another bathroom's GFCI's. Not saying thye followed it
> tho.

Multiple bathrooms' receptacles on the same GFCI circuit is specifically allowed by the NEC.

Old 10-27-06, 03:43 PM
Burkej62, you are incorrect.