Low Voltage question

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-04-06, 06:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Low Voltage question

On a circuit,I have a light switch and five receptacles.
Only one of them work the other 4 there is no power.I checked the first one with the three other with no power with a voltemeter and it gives me a hot to ground 110 volts and hot to neutral 70 volts. I'm asking myself what might be the problem....thinking if there would not be an open should give me zero volts.I also dicovered that I have aluminum wirings and I just changed 2 of these 4 outlet including the first one with power and the second with no power with normal copper receptacles. Can this maybe be the reason that I get like only 70 volts hot to netural wire??!!!

Thankyou for your responds
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-04-06, 06:26 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You have an open neutral (white wire). This will most likely be at the last working or the first not working device.

You changed outlets. make sure the terminals are rated for use with al/cu wire.

Did they work before you replaced these?
 
  #3  
Old 11-04-06, 06:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes they worked before.
And I installed probably standard receptacles for copper wireing. May this be the problem?
 
  #4  
Old 11-04-06, 06:51 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Retrace your steps, You must have a bad connection.

You should be alright with the devices.
 
  #5  
Old 11-05-06, 06:13 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Using the copper devices on aluminum wire will not cause you to get the false readings that you are getting. An open neutral between the first and second recepticle would.

The copper recepticles or aluminum wire does need to be replaced, as this is a fire hazzard. The connections where the dissimilar metals touch eachother are not safe.
 
  #6  
Old 11-05-06, 07:38 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just to be clear.. The devices must be rated for use with AL.
Some out there are rated for use with both.
 
  #7  
Old 11-05-06, 11:15 AM
Sthrnamp's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mid TN
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As others have stated...the cu receps are not for use with AL wiring unless otherwise noted (on he recep) The reasoning is that the wire connections will break down as a result of a chemical reaction b/w the aluminum and the alloy in the receptacle screws.

As for the problem you are now facing. Is the switch a three way (as in does it turn on inmore than one location?) Secondly...how many wires are in the one recep that does work? Thirdly, did you replace the switch as well?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: