pulling new wire through old conduit and box

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-06-06, 08:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
pulling new wire through old conduit and box

I want to pull 3 new 14 gauge wires through an existing exterior 3/4 conduit that already has 3 wires in it. BUT the new wire cannot enter the house at the existing box where the other wire enters, so I'm adding about 1 foot of conduit and an LB through which the new wire will pass through the wall.

Here's the question: Is there any reason that the new wire cannot pass straight through the old box (without a splice) and on through the added conduit and LB? Some obscure code consideration I'm not aware of? Seems pretty straighforward to me, but I've been wrong before...

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-06-06, 08:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How is it you are adding three wires, and what are the existing three wires.

I am concerned with derating.
 
  #3  
Old 11-06-06, 08:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New wires will go from new breaker in panel to serve 2 new 15 amp circuits. Existing 3 wires serve a 20 amp circuit.
 
  #4  
Old 11-06-06, 10:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 749
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by racraft
How is it you are adding three wires, and what are the existing three wires.

I am concerned with derating.
Would it matter? Even if they are all current carrying conductors, 6 wires in 3/4" is fine, right?
 
  #5  
Old 11-07-06, 10:23 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Your plan sounds okay.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: