Overhead Light ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-07-06, 09:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 130
Overhead Light ?

I currently have an overhead light in my dining room that plugs into a socket. I already have power to the box above it, is there a way to hardwire that light into that box? The light came with the outlet plug attached, can I just cut off the plug and wire the wires into the box?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-07-06, 09:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
No. You most likely CANNOT cut off the plug and hardwire this light. The cord on the light is probably NOT rated to be run into a junction box or attached directly to traditional branch circuit wiring.

What you can do is to replace the existing light wiring with appropriate cable and connect this. However, this will likely void any UL or other testing agency rating of the light, and it certainly won;t look good.
 
  #3  
Old 11-07-06, 09:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 130
I didn't think so. Maybe I will just wire an outlet up there.
Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 11-07-06, 01:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,662
You could put a receptacle in the box and plug the light in. They make octagon box covers that will hold a duplex receptacle. You could paint the cover to match the ceiling.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes