Standby Generator Choice Advice

Old 11-08-06, 04:48 PM
Arrow Standby Generator Choice Advice

The choice: Kohler 12RES (10.5kw with Natural Gas) vs the Generac Guardian (either the 13 kw or 10 kw model)
For our needs (running lights, sump pumps (3), frig, etc, 10 kw is plenty capacity. We have at least two outages per year, the shortest being 4 hours, the longest 7 days.

My real question is whether anyone has any knowledge about whether the Kohler unit (more expensive) or the Generac/Guardian is a better quality unit: more reliable? less breakdown prone? longer service life? more stable/cleaner power output? Quality of the generator set components? quality of the engine components? Quality of the automatic transfer switch? Any other comments that may help guide me?

Many thanks in advance, Chuck

Sponsored Links
Old 11-08-06, 05:37 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I know Generac has absolutely horrible customer support. I have no personal experience with their long term reliability though.

IMO the Kohler is a better choice.

Old 11-08-06, 08:44 PM
Originally Posted by ChuckR600
For our needs (running lights, sump pumps (3), frig, etc, 10 kw is plenty capacity. We have at least two outages per year, the shortest being 4 hours, the longest 7 days.
Many thanks in advance, Chuck
Chuck
Where are you located? I am on the gulf coast and was out 6 days during Katrina. I have just a gasoline powered. It nearly
broke my buying the gas.

Old 11-08-06, 09:45 PM
IMHO, go with Kohler.

hear lots of horror stories about Generac--but no first-hand experience.

Old 11-09-06, 06:42 AM
Northern Tool sells a couple of units that run on gasoline, natural gas, and propane with "hot" fuel-switching capability. I can't comment on reliability and support but if I were buying I'd check it out. Make sure you check all the wattage ratings since the advertised rating is only for gasoline.

http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_6970_398826_398826