20 amp receptacles

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-09-06, 04:19 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
20 amp receptacles

Apparently some so called 15 amp power tools actually draw over 15 amps and it is recommended to use 20 amp breakers. So I was thinking about installing 20 amp outlets for my shop area. Is there any reason NOT to just install all 20 amp outlets? Is it bad to have the extra 5 amps breaking room for devices that don't draw a heavy load? Thanks in advance!

Scott
 
  #2  
Old 11-09-06, 04:26 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Assuming you are in the US, your question is not valid. What you mean to be asking, is if you can install a 20 amp circuit instead of a 15 amp circuit.

In the US, if your circuit is a 20 amp circuit, you can install 20 amp receptacles or 15 amp receptacles, or even mix them. Using the 20 amp variety over the 15 amp variety will gain you nothing except the extra slot for the sideways neutral.

If the tools have standard 15 amp plugs, there is no reason install 20 amp receptacles, unless you like spending more money.
 
  #3  
Old 11-09-06, 05:07 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So to rephrase, I guess the question is... is there any reason NOT to install all 20 amp circuits (regardless of receptacle type)? I am actually in Canada.. can I use a 15 amp receptacle on a 20 amp circuit?

EDIT: I looked it up and in Canada we are required to use 20 amp (t slot) receptacles on 20 amp circuits.
 

Last edited by ScottyDon't; 11-09-06 at 05:46 PM.
  #4  
Old 11-09-06, 09:10 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In Canada, if the circuit is 20 amp then the receptacles must be also.
 
  #5  
Old 11-10-06, 06:18 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,794
Received 307 Votes on 263 Posts
Also in Canada you can't run lighting on a 20 amp circuit so you will need a separate 15 amp circuit for lighting.
Also only 12 outlets allowed on a circuit.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: