Non-Grounded GFI

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-14-06, 03:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Non-Grounded GFI

Hello to all-
As always, this is an excellent forum (I visit it weekly to pick up pointers), and wish to thank all the pros who volunteer their time! I have a receptacle that is ungrounded and have a aquarium filter (in contact with water) that is plugged into this outlet. I am installing a GFCI receptacle in its place ( I will label it as non-grounded), and want to know what additional protection if any this will provide. Is this overkill? Will the GFCI still trip with current leakage?
As always-
Thanks much!
Ray
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-14-06, 04:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
A GFCI receptacle will work just fine with no ground. It is not concerned with the ground at all. It is only concerned with the difference (hopefully none) in the current between the hot and neutral wires.

However, the GFCI will NOT provide a ground. If you have some sort of device that needs a ground to function properly, then the only solution is a properly grounded receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-06, 04:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Thanks once again Bob for your time and advice!
Ray
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes