UF cable to shed.

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-16-06, 05:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
UF cable to shed.

Hello once again-
Well I am well into mapping out my circuit breaker panel to ensure that I know what powers what, and I have come across yet what I believe is another mistake made by contractors in years past. I have found a 12-2 w/ground UF type cable which runs to an outside unattached shed. The cable is buried underground more than 18" below the surface, however there is no conduit. There is no subpanel in the garage, and all it powers is one light, and one receptacle. Is this legal? The underground run to the shed is 15'. My gut instinct tells me that since there is a receptacle, I must add GFCI protection at the very least. Does it matter in terms of safety wether I add a GFCI breaker and protect the entire run of UF cable in terms of potential current leakage, or is it OK to install a GFCI receptacle in the shed itself?
As always, thank you for your time!
Ray
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-16-06, 05:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need a disconnect in the shed, which can be a simple switch, as long as it shuts off everything in the shed. Conduit is NOT required for this run. You need GFCI protection in the shed.
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-06, 05:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Once again a big thank you Bob!
ray.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: