This might seem like a stupid question...

Old 11-24-06, 12:46 PM
This might seem like a stupid question...

I'm a novice at this stuff so bare with me, please. I am in an old home that has 2-slot outlets (no ground). How do I change over to a 3-slot with a working ground? I also don't know what to do to make the 3 to 2 adapter actually ground the appliance that needs the 3rd slot that I am using the adapter for. Please help me. Thanx.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-24-06, 12:51 PM
Group Moderator
The only way to ground the outlet would involve running ground wire to all of your outlets. You could switch over to the three prong outlets through use of a gfci. Might be worth having an electrician over to see what's the best way for your home.

Old 11-24-06, 01:26 PM
Is there another way?

Originally Posted by mitch17
The only way to ground the outlet would involve running ground wire to all of your outlets. You could switch over to the three prong outlets through use of a gfci. Might be worth having an electrician over to see what's the best way for your home.

How about these adapters that have 2 prongs and a "tag" for the ground. Do you know what I mean? The type of adapters that are widely available to adapt a 3 prong plug to a 2 prong outlet. How do I ground my appliance with one of these adapters?

Old 11-24-06, 02:30 PM
The adapter that you are referring to is comonly called a ground breaker or ground buster. While it may allow you to plug a grounded tool or appliance into an ungrounded outlet it is in fact removing the ground path that the appliance requires to be safely operated.

The only way that I know of to provide a ground is to replace the 2 conductor cable serivng your outlets with a 3 conductor cable.

Old 11-24-06, 02:51 PM
If the junction boxes are grounded, then you can replace the receptacles with three prong versions or you can temporarily use an adapter and you will have a ground. depending on when the house was wired, this may be the case.