Using Air Conditioner receptacle for TV?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-26-06, 05:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bronx
Posts: 2
Using Air Conditioner receptacle for TV?

I have just bought a new TV, which comes with a standard 3-prong plug. The only problem is, in my living room all receptacles are 2 prong, with the exception of a 3-prong receptacle intended for an air conditioner, which has the 2 flat slits horizontal rather than vertical (it is shaped like -.-). My question is 3-fold.

1. Can I use this receptacle for my TV? I read somewhere that this type of receptacle is for 240V rather than 120V, so I am afraid that plugging my TV into it will ruin it.

2. If I can use it, where would I find an adapter for it? I could not find one in the Home Depot or Radio Shack.

3. If I cannot use it, should I use my 2 prong outlets with an adapter?

Thank you in advance for your answers.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-26-06, 06:01 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Welcome.

1) no, this rec is 220V 20Amp. Bye-Bye Tv.

2)If you no longer use or need the AC rec, It can be changed to fit the need.

3) This answer can get involved (technicaly).

I don't care for adapters, Simple answer: Change 1 of the 2-prongs to a GFCI rec. now you have 3 and a level of safety.
You still however may NOT have a ground.
If you open this rec, Post back with what you find, There may be another option.
 
  #3  
Old 11-26-06, 06:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
If the existing 120 volt receptacles do not have a ground, then I suggest you either ground one or add a new circuit for the TV.
 
  #4  
Old 11-26-06, 06:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bronx
Posts: 2
Thank you for your replies. I have never done electrical work before, so I think doing any electrical modifications unsupervised would not be a good idea. Besides I live in an apartment, so the landlord my not take kindly to me doing this sort of work if they find the alterations I think the best solution for me will have to be to run an extension cord from my bedroom - it will look ugly, but at least I will have a ground.

Oh, and thanks for saving my new TV
 
  #5  
Old 11-26-06, 06:41 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
We don't recomend that aswell.

Contact the landlord, Get permision (or have them) to hire an electrician. It may not be as a big deal as you fear.

The cord is a liability, consider other tenants, even if they don't.
 
  #6  
Old 11-26-06, 06:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,623
The odds are good that the AC rec is on it's own circuit. Having an electrician change out the recepticle and breaker would be very easy.

I bet the land lord would go for it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'