Service wire help

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-30-06, 12:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
Service wire help

Can I run my 200 amp service wire thro My RMC conduit or do I need to have sperate condcutors? Right now i have the jackted cable.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-30-06, 01:18 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,342
You may install cable in conduit.
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-06, 06:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,065
I always get a little nervous on questions like this. Can you elaborate some? I'm thinking you mean an rmc conduit from the meter to the main panel in your single family dwelling. You need to get your bonding correct at the meter. This is usually done by screwing a bonding bushing onto the end of the rmc and then a #4 solid copper to the meter grounding lug. Is there a seperate main disconnect before the panel (usually close to the meter) or is the panel a mainbreaker panel and no seperate main disconnect?

Roger
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-06, 07:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
Nope I just finnaly am ready to put in the 100 amp service in my garage, it is 2.5 " RMC conduit from the top of meter base to weatherhead . I all ready have the wire but it is jacket'ed
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'