Three-way switching

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-04-06, 10:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Three-way switching

I have two lights between two three-way switches with power through switch. How do I wire? I have 12-3 w/G run between each device.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-04-06, 11:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No can do.

Replace the cable between the fixtures with 12-4 or rewire so that you don't need to use 12-4.
 
  #3  
Old 12-04-06, 11:07 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is no way I know to electrically get this done with only 12-3 and still be safe and meet code. You can get an X10 or other 'aftermarket' system to provide the 3-way function wirelessly or otherwise.

The problem is that you need a fourth wire between the two fixtures. Then you cannot run a circuit over two separate cables, so you would need another cable or 12/4 with ground.

If you added a fourth wire, for example in raceway between the fixtures, you would use red and black as travelers between the start and end switches, and you could re-ID the white from the end switch to fixture #2, but you need that fourth wire, for example blue, to get from fixture #2 to fixture #1.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: