Hooking up "Extra Circuits"

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-07-06, 03:06 PM
dwc
dwc is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Hooking up "Extra Circuits"

When the house was built I asked the builder to run two extra circuits to the basement for future expansion (the main panel is in the garage). What I have is a cable running from the panel to an outlet in the basement . The cable has 4 total wires, one white, one black, one red, and copper ground. Nothing is hooked up on either end.

My assumption on how to wire these circuits hot is to add two circuit breakers to the main panel hooking one up to either the black or red and using the white as netural. hooking the other breaker up to the other red or black again using white as netural.

This sound right? In other words, I will be using the single white wire as the netural for both circuits.

DWC
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-07-06, 03:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 4,219
The type circuit you describe is a shared neutral. It is often used, but you should explain what your use will be to properly coment.
 
  #3  
Old 12-07-06, 04:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
You are correct with one very important fact left out. The two circuit breakers must be hooked to different hot legs. The easiest way to assure this is to a double pole 240 volt breaker.
 
  #4  
Old 12-07-06, 08:12 PM
dwc
dwc is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
The plan is to use the circuits for lights and outlets in an excercise room and another bedroom I am finishing off.

I was planning on using two 20 amp breakers and installing one on each side of the panel.

thanks for the help and advice.

DWC
 
  #5  
Old 12-07-06, 08:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,788
DWC wrote: "I was planning on using two 20 amp breakers and installing one on each side of the panel."

Depending on panel installing on opposite sides does not mean they will be on different legs. The bedroom will need an AFCI circuit. It really sounds as if you should have at least three circuits.
 
  #6  
Old 12-08-06, 05:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
If you have a bedroom, and it must be a legal bedroom, meaning proper egress, then you have no choice but to use a 240 volt AFCI circuit breaker.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'