Subpanel w/o Ground wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-08-06, 05:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Subpanel w/o Ground wire

I am changing over a 100 amp Federal Pacific sub panel box in my detached garage with a Cutler Hammer box with 100 amp main breaker The feed coming into the garage from the house is 2 hots and a neutral.(no Ground from the house) I will connecting a separate ground wire from the the panel ground bar to a grounding rod ..I know when you wire a sub you are to keep the grounds and neutrals separate and disconnect the bonding strap to the neutral bar. Is this still true with my situation also, do I need to run a ground wire from the house? Thanks for your help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-08-06, 05:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Its a Detached Garage
 
  #3  
Old 12-08-06, 06:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Is this an attached or detached garage?
 
  #4  
Old 12-08-06, 06:21 AM
itsunclebill's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denver, CO area
Posts: 221
While a separate ground isn't a bad idea, on a detatched garage it isn't required. UNLESS there is another metallic connection to the house - like a phone wire or water line. In this event you would need to have the separate ground wire

If you don't have a separate ground wire from the house the bonding strap in the sub panel must be used.
 
  #5  
Old 12-08-06, 07:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 37
There's no metal connections between house and garage so if I attach the bonding strap between the neutral bar and ground bar is it still necessary to keep the neutrals and grounds separated
 
  #6  
Old 12-08-06, 08:51 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,342
> There's no metal connections between house and garage so if I attach
> the bonding strap between the neutral bar and ground bar is it still
> necessary to keep the neutrals and grounds separated

No, they do not need to be seperated, although it's not a bad idea in case you ever need to add a ground wire.

Is the feeder between the main panel and detached subpanel in metal conduit? If so, and the conduit is continuous between panels, then the conduit itself is the ground conductor.
 
  #7  
Old 12-08-06, 10:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Excellent thought but no, the feeder is not in metal conduit. Thanks for your help!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'