electrical interference in conduit runs

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-12-06, 10:37 AM
ddr
ddr is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 133
electrical interference in conduit runs

I know itís best to keep computers, TVs and such on a separate circuit from receptacles you frequently use for power tools, vacuums, etc. because of the electrical interference, but I was wondering:

If you have these receptacles on separate circuits, but you run the wires for these circuits through the same conduit, will the problem still exist due to the proximity of the wires?

Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-13-06, 06:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 85
interference

I don't think this is a particular problem. Yes, ideally it'd be desirable to have total circuit isolation. However, modern electronic devices have adequate to near-perfect line filtering circuits and shielding. I would not be too concerned and have yet to see where this is a sizable issue.
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-06, 06:13 PM
green jacket's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Williamsport and Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Posts: 502
Generally, the metalic conduit issue doesn't affect power distribution much. However, in communication systems it does become an important issue in commercial/industrial settings, especially on a factory floor with large equipment that induces all kinds of interference into a conduit, rendering communications circuits with poor performance.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes