What type of wire to run?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-13-06, 07:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
What type of wire to run?

I am planning on putting in a shop in my attached garage. would like to pull power from existing breaker box in the house to a 100 amp panal. this is a 75ft. run. thru 1 1/2 inch conduit. what size wire and type of wire should be pulled.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-13-06, 07:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Is the conduit inside or outside? Why conduit instead of a cable assembly?
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-06, 08:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Three #3 THHN copper conductors, and one #8 stranded conductor with Green-colored insulation.The Green #8 is the Equiptment Grounding Conductor

One of the #3 conductors, the Neutral, MUST be White. It's best if the other two colors are Black and Red, but you can use two Blacks, and "identify" the "Red" conductor with Red marking tape. Black & Red indicate 220 volts between the two conductors.

At the sub-panel, ONLY the Green #8 EGC is "Bonded" to the metallic surface of the panel enclosure, and the EGC's of the circuits that extend from the panel.The Neutral/White conductor must be isolated-from-Ground.
 
  #4  
Old 12-13-06, 11:53 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,335
You could also pull aluminum wires in the sizes 2-2-4-6 for hot-hot-neutral-ground. Aluminum wire is quite a bit cheaper than copper, but you need to get good terminations using a wire brush to remove the oxidation and apply NO-OX grease to the wire strands. Torque the lugs to panel specs. Also identify the conductors black, red, white and green (or bare). The conduit should be buried 18" deep.
 
  #5  
Old 12-13-06, 07:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 65
What type of work do you intend to do in the shop? This should tell you how heavy of wire and circuits would be needed. If using a welder you may need to go with the 4 AWG, if no welder possibly a smaller line would work.
 
  #6  
Old 12-14-06, 03:04 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,795
Post deleted for inaccuracy. Misread original post.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 12-15-06 at 02:09 PM.
  #7  
Old 12-15-06, 05:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
no welder it is for wood working and power will be pulled thru 11/2 metal conduit
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'