Transfer Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-14-06, 07:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 249
Transfer Switch

I came by a big, 500A switch that was used to switch the output of a generator to either its normal load or a load bank for testing. Can I use this for a transfer switch. The switch was designed for three phase power and I was wondering if I use it should I switch the neutral to or run it common to both the generator and commercial power?

Jimmie
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-15-06, 05:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I would not use this. It is always best to use an electrical device as it is intended, and not to adapt something for another purpose.
 
  #3  
Old 12-15-06, 09:09 AM
Professor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 32
Exclamation Don't do it

According to the NEC any equipment installed must be installed and used according to it's UL listing.
If that piece of equipment is designed to be used for load bank testing, then it shouldn't be used as a transfer switch. Further, if it is designed for three phase it must be used for three phase and not used in a single phase installation.
As for the neutral question:
Neutrals should not be interrupted during a transfer, meaning that you can't switch the neutral. There are only specific instances where the neutral can be switched, such as in the case of certain Hazardous installations.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'