Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

How can I repair or replace the clip holding a electric meter?

Old 12-27-06, 07:19 PM

I am new at this, so I apologize if my explanation is not clear. I have an electric meter outside my home. When it is removed, the panel has 4 clips that would normally connect to the 4 prongs on the electric meter. One of the clips is loose and not making a great connection. As a result, if the connection is not good on that one contact, the light and power in my house is intermittent. However, I can wiggle the meter and if I get it just right, the power will stay on fine. Of course, this usually stays good for about a couple of weeks till it works itself loose again, then I have to wiggle the meter again. Not a permanent solution. The electric company came out to check and recommended that the clip be fixed or replaced? Does anyone have any recommendations on how to do this? It does not appear extremely difficult, but it is electricity and potentially dangerous. I could get a contractor to do it, but it would probably cost an arm and a leg and it doesn't appear like a big job. Thanks in advance for all your recommendations.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-27-06, 07:30 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Exclamation

DON'T TOUCH IT!!!. Call The power co. in the AM. and they will take care of it.
They own this meter not you. This could BLOW up in your face, LITERALY!

Now with that said, I'll read the rest of your post.

I'm back. This is a Power co. issue. Let them deal with it. Many of their own have been seriously injured this way (and their trained).
You may have to supply a new meter can and have that installed, Fast job for a pro. Have one do it.

So why have you let this go so long? For this reason alone, I don't think any of us would feel comfortable pointing you in a repair direction.