Reverse wired breaker oddity

Old 12-28-06, 12:07 AM
Reverse wired breaker oddity

I'm no electrician but I saw something strange today and would appreciate any insight. I may not be using the correct terms but I hope you can figure out what I mean.

4-unit building. Service entrance comes into a metal box (did not see inside) which feeds 4 meters. Beneath each meter is a subpanel with a 60 amp breaker (30 amp double pole).

The wires coming from the meter are connected to the breaker- I mean directly connected. The wires coming from the unit are connected to the hot and neutral busses.

Is this acceptable? I've always seen the wires coming from the unit (house) connected to the breaker, with the wires from the service entrance and meter connected to the busses of the subpanel.

All four of these subpanels are wired the same and have been working fine for years.

Thank you for any feedback.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-28-06, 04:28 AM
You would need to contact the breaker mfg to find out if these breakers are backfeed rated. Most are.

Old 12-28-06, 06:37 AM
FYI A double 30 amp breaker is a 30 amp breaker not a 60 amp breaker.

Old 12-28-06, 09:19 AM
jwhite,

Thanks for the suggestion. It's a Murray and I'm heading over to the supply house today to check it out.

joed,

I appreciate the clarification. Even though I enjoy learning about electrical, this is yet another reason that I leave the actual work to the pros.

Old 12-28-06, 09:54 AM
"4-unit building. Service entrance comes into a metal box (did not see inside) which feeds 4 meters. Beneath each meter is a subpanel with a 60 amp breaker (30 amp double pole). " ------

Where are these eqiptments located?---- "Outdoor" or "Indoor" ?

"The wires coming from the unit are connected to the hot and neutral busses." ---

This is permissible provided that the rating of the circuit-breaker does not exceed the rating of the Feeder Conductors that connect to the panel busses via the "Main Lugs"